I am not a minority. I am a human being. Before I am a woman, black, Latina, ex homeless, single mom, I am a human being. Not a minority. Not marginalized. People suffer. That’s a fact. When we say ones suffering weighs more than another we dehumanize and scapegoat. It just doesn’t work and it’s just not a conversation of unity. It is not the conversation of finding how we work together as humans it is a stand still not forward movement. 
Can you hear I am not a minority? Can you hear I am human? I am American and live in a beautiful powerful country where luxury is my daily life. I can accomplish anything I put my mind to and no one can shove me down and say I can’t because I’m black. Can you hear my freedom that Martin Luther King Jr gave his life for? Can you see the power in me from my ancestors? 

Black people have ancestry of royalty. Because they were forced into slavery that is not who they were. They were majestic people of heart soul and power and to identify the black community for what was forced on them, slavery, is a disservice. Can you hear the reality of who the black community is and hear me saying enough of speaking to us like all we have to look forward to is the bottom of the barrel? We are Queens and Kings not the shackles that were put on our ancestors. I will not deny their majesty. I will not be addressed like a slave.

Leave a Reply

