Day 88 of 100 Days of Loving Men

Day 88 of Loving Men

Face shame

Whew, another big one. In vulnerability, shame comes present. Rocked me to my knees. And without vulnerability, there is no freedom, no love, no joy.

I tell myself I’m not deserving of the love in my life, not worthy of speaking. The stories tell me to just shut down and shut up.

However, when I do that, I’m keeping love from myself and those in my life including the man I love. To shut down and shut up means I’m withholding love.

To guard myself from vulnerability is not safe, it’s reckless. The opposite of self care. To guard myself I stay prisoner to my shame. In a cage of unworthy.

I have faced my shame. I have opened wounds of my past and brought them into view. I am being honest with myself. I locked myself away feeling unworthy. Shame became an addiction, a habit I didn’t even know I had. And it kept me disconnected.

Now I know when shame is there, it’s time for me to look within and free myself instead of shutting myself down and shutting myself up. I choose to share my love.

*I really recommend the videos I shared on this page by Brene Brown on Vulnerability and Shame

Leave a Reply

